Premptive Debbie Downer

I am slightly more calm now then I was last Monday. so this post will be less manic than the previous one.  You’re welcome in advance.

Where did I leave off? Last Sunday we decided to list our house on the market, our furnace pump broke the same day and I had a tank of liquid nitrogen that had to go back to the bank by Thursday but it didn’t really look or feel like my body would be ready to ovulate by then. I was stressed.

What a difference a week makes! Monday the 26th, the furnace guy came and fixed the pump and brought an electrician to fix a carbon monoxide detector and fix some duct work. That was nice. Tuesday our realtor came to take pictures of the house in all of its decluttered glory, Wednesday I spent a lovely day with my mom and sister seeing The Hunger Games (which I thought was amazing) and eating great food. Thursday our house was OFFICIALLY on the market and I went to the sperm bank to have the tank refilled with liquid nitrogen for another seven days for only $50 and then Friday we started checking out houses on Zillow.com and our realtor showed our house for the first time.

As we headed into the weekend, by Friday I was on 11 days of “high” readings on the ClearBlue Easy Fertility Monitor and then it went back down to “low” instead of up to “peak” like I was hoping. Cheapie OPK’s weren’t showing anything exciting either. On Saturday the CBEFM didn’t even ask for a test BUT the OPK read positive. So that meant that on Sunday we could go in for an IUI!! AHH!!! Oh, and that was also the day of our first open house. My body just really wanted everything to continue happening all at once. Wasn’t that nice?

Sunday was kind of weird. I woke up crazy early after not getting a lot of sleep (Jon was away for his fantasy baseball draft that night so I made the questionable decision to stay up until 2am watching DVR’d Grey’s Anatomy…bad call. Really bad call) and got started on doing some last minute cleaning. Put things away, made sure the windows were open and letting in lots of light..took the leaves out of the kitchen table to make our kitchen look bigger..Jon finally got home and we headed in for the IUI at 11am. When we got there, the girl thawed the vial and then had us confirm the donor number. I rattled off the 4 numbers and she looked us right in the eye and straight faced said “I’m sorry, but that doesn’t actually match what’s here..”

APRIL FOOLS.

Um. Dude. I’m sure me & Jon’s faces were priceless. As I tried to decide who to sue, how much to freak out..Jon said his heart dropped. And this girl just laughs and tells us that it was just a joke. I didn’t even realize it was April Fools Day but I don’t think that’s a great joke to play on someone. I’m just saying. She started out the appointment with “I have some bad news………..you have to re-sign some of the paperwork.” On the way home Jon said “I don’t think she has a firm grasp on what constitutes ‘bad news’ at this point in this particular journey” and I totally agree.

ANYWAY. The IUI itself was a total non-event. I had already had an HSC which was pretty much the exact same thing. So the doctor placed the stuff where it needed to go, I laid there for 10 minutes and then we left. But not before getting a coffee to make it through the rest of the day. I told Jon when we left though, I don’t feel great about our chances this cycle. He was bummed and surprised I was being so pessimistic but something just doesn’t feel right to me about this cycle. I got the positive OPK on Saturday but Sunday when I tested it was back to negative where I usually get two positive days in a row. So, I guess it was good to have a practice run, but when I POAS on the 15th, I don’t really have high hopes. I’m actually fully expecting to get my period any time now.

We couldn’t go home because our Open House was going on, so we decided to spend the day checking out some open houses of our own. 5 hours, 1 rude realtor, 2 houses on main roads, and 6 houses with some good points each but none with the whole package later we were both exhausted and ready to gnaw off our arms. I think what we learned was that we need a buyers agent. We’re going to check with our realtor and see if he can do it. We have a list of houses we want to see but it’s a lot of legwork and waiting to check in with each sellers agent individually and schedule showings. Hopefully our realtor can just plan a day/couple of days where we can check these out.

Oh, and hopefully someone wants to buy our house. That would help.

About youmesomeoneelse

A pretty normal couple working their way down the winding and sometimes weird road to having a family

Posted on April 3, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

