18 week update

How far along? 18 weeks

Size of Baby: Sweet potato..at our ultrasound on Friday he was around 10 ounces.

Total Weight Gain/Loss: At my last appointment I was down 5 pounds and got a frowny face from the nurse. But I think my first two weigh-ins were SO ridiculously high due to bloat that I’m actually just weighing in normally  now. I think I’m probably up maybe a pound from my normal pre-pregnancy bloat weight.

Maternity Clothes: Not yet, but it’s definitely coming. I’m starting to feel a little rounder and I’m down to one pair of jeans. I still just look chubby though.

Sex of Baby:  We had our anatomy scan on Friday and found out that we’re having a BOY!!! To be honest, I’d been having strong boy feelings the whole time and if they had said it was a girl, I would’ve been surprised (yes, I know there are only two options, but still).

Belly Button In/Out: In

Stretch Marks: Nope

Labor Signs: Nope

Movement: Not really. At our ultrasound he was moving like CRAZY though. It’s weird that I can’t feel him but I know he’s tiny still.

Sleep: I’m sleeping fine for the most part but sometimes wake up due to back pain

Cravings/Aversions: I’ve been kind of obsessed with fresh fruit popsicles, but other than that, nothing really. I’ve definitely moved past any aversions I might have had (broccoli!) and am now eating anything. And I’m highly suggestible. If Jon mentions something that may be tasty I have an immediate “ohhhhh..lets eat that right now!” feeling.

Symptoms: mid-back pain and pain around my sternum/under my right boob. It feels like my ribs are trying to break themselves in half. Not a fun time. Tylenol does not help and an ice pack really only helps for the time I have it on the area.

Feeling: I’m far more excited now that we know the gender. Before I was obviously psyched about the baby in general, but now I’m feeling like it’s much more real.

Best Moment this Week: Letting my mom know it’s a boy, setting her free on the internet to help me plan a nursery theme. Jon being excited and looking forward to things. It’s just been a fun week.

What I Miss: Really, nothing.

What I am Looking Forward To: Movement, starting to figure out a nursery theme, maybe figuring out infant care classes soon.

Milestones: Anatomy scan was awesome, we’re almost halfway which is kind of surreal.

Baby Milestones: Has all his limbs, was moving like crazy, the heart structure and brain both look great. We got the lowest possible odds of Downs, trisomy issues and NT issues which is reassuring and in general things seems perfect so far.

Next Appointment: May 23rd we have a follow up ultrasound because they couldn’t see the base of his spine, then a quick OB appointment and then a fetal echocardiogram because one of the children born to our donor was born with ASD and VSD (two holes in chambers of the heart) and therefore we’re at an increased risk – 2% as opposed to 1% in the general public. These holes sometimes close on their own but sometimes require surgery and my OB wants us to have all the information and be prepared just in case.

About youmesomeoneelse

A pretty normal couple working their way down the winding and sometimes weird road to having a family

Posted on May 13, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

